3 Feb 2001: A view of the XFL logo sign taken during the game between the Las Vegas Outlaws and the New York/New Jersey Hitmen at the Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada. The Outlaws defeated the Hitmen 19-0.Mandatory Credit: Todd Warshaw /Allsport

< Go to Homepage

XFL Announces Teams, Cities, and Stadiums for 2020 Return

Vince McMahon and commissioner Oliver Luck spoke today at MetLife Stadium.

Set for a 2020 reboot, the XFL has announced the first eight league-owned franchises that will open up for business when the league kicks off again in 2020.

During an event at MetLife Stadium, Vince McMahon and league commissioner Oliver Luck revealed Dallas, St. Louis, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Seattle, Tampa Bay, and Washington D.C. will be the first XFL cities.

The league did not pull any punches as a few of the teams will play in stadiums, for example MetLife Stadium and CenturyLink Field in Seattle, that host NFL teams.

Ticket sales could be a concern as even the XFL’s smallest stadium, Audi Fieldin D.C., holds 20,000 people.

Though not announced, the league has already registered XFL-related domains for Atlanta, Austin, Chicago, Cleveland, Detroit, Kansas City, Minnesota, Nashville, Orlando, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Pittsburgh, and San Francisco.

The season will start in February after the Super Bowl in 2020 and season tickets are already on sale.

Read the full story at Forbes